Icewrought Sentry
Creature — Elemental Soldier
Vigilance
Whenever this creature attacks, you may pay . When you do, tap target creature an opponent controls.
Whenever you tap an untapped creature an opponent controls, this creature gets +2/+1 until end of turn.
Brian Valeza
Wilds of Eldraine (WOE)
• #55Rulings
Icewrought Sentry's last ability will trigger only when an effect instructs you to tap an opponent's creature. It won't trigger if a spell or ability you control instructs an opponent to tap a creature they control. For example, if you control Tangle Wire and an opponent taps an untapped creature they control as part of the resolution of Tangle Wire's triggered ability, Icewrought Sentry's ability won't trigger.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Rulings
Icewrought Sentry's last ability will trigger only when an effect instructs you to tap an opponent's creature. It won't trigger if a spell or ability you control instructs an opponent to tap a creature they control. For example, if you control Tangle Wire and an opponent taps an untapped creature they control as part of the resolution of Tangle Wire's triggered ability, Icewrought Sentry's ability won't trigger.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)