Vraska's Contempt
Instant
Exile target creature or planeswalker. You gain 2 life.
It wasn't long before the taverns of High and Dry were full of whispers about the new captain who could turn a person to stone with a glance.
Clint Cearley
Ixalan (XLN)
• #129Rulings
There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. These cards have the Planeswalker symbol in their text box; this symbol has no effect on gameplay. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at http://www.mtgstory.com.
(wotc • 2018-01-19)
If the target creature or planeswalker is an illegal target by the time Vraska’s Contempt resolves, the entire spell doesn’t resolve. You won’t gain life.
(wotc • 2017-09-29)
Rulings
There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. These cards have the Planeswalker symbol in their text box; this symbol has no effect on gameplay. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at http://www.mtgstory.com.
(wotc • 2018-01-19)
If the target creature or planeswalker is an illegal target by the time Vraska’s Contempt resolves, the entire spell doesn’t resolve. You won’t gain life.
(wotc • 2017-09-29)