Cleric of Life's Bond
Creature — Vampire Cleric
Whenever another Cleric you control enters, you gain 1 life.
Whenever you gain life for the first time each turn, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.
"No gods. Only each other."
Andrey Kuzinskiy
Zendikar Rising (ZNR)
• #222Rulings
If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
An ability that triggers “whenever you gain life” triggers just once for each life-gaining event, no matter how much life you gain.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
An ability that triggers whenever you gain life “for the first time each turn” won’t trigger if you gain life during a turn before the permanent with that ability is on the battlefield, even if you gain life again later in the turn.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, a “whenever you gain life” ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
Rulings
If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
An ability that triggers “whenever you gain life” triggers just once for each life-gaining event, no matter how much life you gain.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
An ability that triggers whenever you gain life “for the first time each turn” won’t trigger if you gain life during a turn before the permanent with that ability is on the battlefield, even if you gain life again later in the turn.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, a “whenever you gain life” ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase.
(wotc • 2020-09-25)