Catti-brie of Mithral Hall
Legendary Creature — Human Archer
First strike, reach
Whenever Catti-brie attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it for each Equipment attached to it.
, Remove all +1/+1 counters from Catti-brie: It deals X damage to target attacking or blocking creature an opponent controls, where X is the number of counters removed this way.
Lius Lasahido
Rulings
If Catti-brie of Mithral Hall has no counters, you can still activate the last ability. This won't deal any damage, but it will count as targeting something for abilities like that of Fey Steed.
(wotc • 2021-07-23)
If a blocking creature is destroyed due to damage dealt this way, the creature it was blocking is still considered blocked. Unless the attacking creature has trample, it won't deal any damage to the player or planeswalker it is attacking.
(wotc • 2021-07-23)
Rulings
If Catti-brie of Mithral Hall has no counters, you can still activate the last ability. This won't deal any damage, but it will count as targeting something for abilities like that of Fey Steed.
(wotc • 2021-07-23)
If a blocking creature is destroyed due to damage dealt this way, the creature it was blocking is still considered blocked. Unless the attacking creature has trample, it won't deal any damage to the player or planeswalker it is attacking.
(wotc • 2021-07-23)