Kalemne's Captain
Creature — Giant Soldier
Vigilance
: Monstrosity 3. (If this creature isn't monstrous, put three +1/+1 counters on it and it becomes monstrous.)
When this creature becomes monstrous, exile all artifacts and enchantments.
Tomasz Jedruszek
Rulings
Monstrous isn’t an ability that the creature has. It’s just something true about that creature. If the creature stops being a creature or loses its abilities, it continues to be monstrous.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)
Once a creature becomes monstrous, it can’t become monstrous again. If Kalemne’s Captain is already monstrous, the activated ability won’t do anything.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)
An ability that triggers when a creature becomes monstrous won’t trigger if that creature isn’t on the battlefield when its monstrosity ability resolves.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)
Rulings
Monstrous isn’t an ability that the creature has. It’s just something true about that creature. If the creature stops being a creature or loses its abilities, it continues to be monstrous.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)
Once a creature becomes monstrous, it can’t become monstrous again. If Kalemne’s Captain is already monstrous, the activated ability won’t do anything.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)
An ability that triggers when a creature becomes monstrous won’t trigger if that creature isn’t on the battlefield when its monstrosity ability resolves.
(wotc • 2015-11-04)