Flamewake Phoenix
Creature — Phoenix
Flying, haste
This creature attacks each combat if able.
Ferocious — At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you control a creature with power 4 or greater, you may pay . If you do, return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield.
Min Yum
Foundations (FDN)
• #198Rulings
If Flamewake Phoenix can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, you're not forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
Flamewake Phoenix's last ability will check at the start of your beginning of combat step to see if you control a creature with power 4 or greater. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. If it does trigger, the ability will check again as it tries to resolve. If you don't control a creature with power 4 or greater at that time, the ability won't resolve. You won't get a chance to pay {R}, and Flamewake Phoenix won't return to the battlefield.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
Rulings
If Flamewake Phoenix can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, you're not forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
Flamewake Phoenix's last ability will check at the start of your beginning of combat step to see if you control a creature with power 4 or greater. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. If it does trigger, the ability will check again as it tries to resolve. If you don't control a creature with power 4 or greater at that time, the ability won't resolve. You won't get a chance to pay {R}, and Flamewake Phoenix won't return to the battlefield.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)