Magic the Gathering Card - Flamewake Phoenix - MTG Circle

Flamewake Phoenix

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Phoenix

Flying, haste

This creature attacks each combat if able.

Ferocious — At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you control a creature with power 4 or greater, you may pay Magic the Gathering mana symbol. If you do, return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

standard
Legal
alchemy
Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If Flamewake Phoenix can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, you're not forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
(wotc2024-11-08)
Flamewake Phoenix's last ability will check at the start of your beginning of combat step to see if you control a creature with power 4 or greater. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. If it does trigger, the ability will check again as it tries to resolve. If you don't control a creature with power 4 or greater at that time, the ability won't resolve. You won't get a chance to pay {R}, and Flamewake Phoenix won't return to the battlefield.
(wotc2024-11-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS