Electrolyze

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Electrolyze deals 2 damage divided as you choose among one or two targets.

Draw a card.

The Izzet learn something from every lesson they teach.

qZoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

You divide the damage as you cast Electrolyze, not as it resolves. Each target must be assigned at least 1 damage. In other words, as you cast Electrolyze, you choose whether to have it deal 2 damage to a single target, or deal 1 damage to each of two targets.
(wotc2017-11-17)
If all chosen targets are illegal as Electrolyze tries to resolve, it won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt and you won't draw a card.
(wotc2017-11-17)
If Electrolyze targets two creatures and one becomes an illegal target, the remaining target is dealt 1 damage, not 2. You'll still draw a card.
(wotc2017-11-17)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS