Sinister Sabotage
Instant
Counter target spell.
Surveil 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard.)
"We have intel that some guilds have fallen under an invader's influence. Until we're sure, no venture succeeds." —Lazav
Mathias Kollros
Guilds of Ravnica (GRN)
• #54Rulings
You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you'll surveil last. For others, you'll surveil and then perform other actions.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
Some spells that instruct you to surveil require targets. You can't cast a spell without choosing legal targets. If all of those targets become illegal, the spell doesn't resolve and you won't surveil.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
A spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Sinister Sabotage. The spell won't be countered when Sinister Sabotage resolves, but you'll still surveil 1.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
Rulings
You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you'll surveil last. For others, you'll surveil and then perform other actions.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
Some spells that instruct you to surveil require targets. You can't cast a spell without choosing legal targets. If all of those targets become illegal, the spell doesn't resolve and you won't surveil.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
A spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Sinister Sabotage. The spell won't be countered when Sinister Sabotage resolves, but you'll still surveil 1.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)