Field of Ruin
Land
: Add
.
, Sacrifice this land: Destroy target nonbasic land an opponent controls. Each player searches their library for a basic land card, puts it onto the battlefield, then shuffles.
"There's some devilry at work in the Shire." —Sam
Shahab Alizadeh
Rulings
If the target land is an illegal target by the time Field of Ruin's ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve. No players search for a basic land card or shuffles. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), each player does search and shuffle.
(wotc • 2021-03-19)
Printings
Rulings
If the target land is an illegal target by the time Field of Ruin's ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve. No players search for a basic land card or shuffles. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), each player does search and shuffle.
(wotc • 2021-03-19)