Underworld Hermit

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Peasant

When this creature enters, create a number of 1/1 green Squirrel creature tokens equal to your devotion to black. (Each Magic the Gathering mana symbol in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)

Mood: He's the Pied Piper of squirrels.

qJason A. Engle
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
(wotc2021-06-18)
If you put an Aura on an opponent's permanent, you still control the Aura, and mana symbols in its mana cost count towards your devotion.
(wotc2021-06-18)
Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc2021-06-18)
If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
(wotc2021-06-18)
Colorless and generic mana symbols ({C}, {0}, {1}, {2}, {X}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc2021-06-18)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS