Underworld Hermit
Creature — Human Peasant
When this creature enters, create a number of 1/1 green Squirrel creature tokens equal to your devotion to black. (Each in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)
Some souls yearn to escape death. Others are content to feed the wildlife.
Jason A. Engle
The List (PLST)
• #MH2-105Rulings
Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
If you put an Aura on an opponent's permanent, you still control the Aura, and mana symbols in its mana cost count towards your devotion.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
Colorless and generic mana symbols ({C}, {0}, {1}, {2}, {X}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
Rulings
Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
If you put an Aura on an opponent's permanent, you still control the Aura, and mana symbols in its mana cost count towards your devotion.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)
Colorless and generic mana symbols ({C}, {0}, {1}, {2}, {X}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc • 2021-06-18)