Essence Capture
Instant
Counter target creature spell. Put a +1/+1 counter on up to one target creature you control.
The Futurists regard the tradition of kami-bonding as anachronistic and inefficient, striving constantly to surpass spiritual power with technology.
Campbell White
Rulings
You can't cast Essence Capture without a target creature spell. If either target is illegal when Essence Capture tries to resolve, the other is still affected as appropriate.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
A creature spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Essence Capture. The spell won't be countered when Essence Capture resolves, but you'll still put a +1/+1 counter on the target creature.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
Rulings
You can't cast Essence Capture without a target creature spell. If either target is illegal when Essence Capture tries to resolve, the other is still affected as appropriate.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
A creature spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Essence Capture. The spell won't be countered when Essence Capture resolves, but you'll still put a +1/+1 counter on the target creature.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)