Essence Capture
Instant
Counter target creature spell. Put a +1/+1 counter on up to one target creature you control.
Might or Magic? Recent Clash Fuels Debate
Adam Volker
Breaking News (OTP)
• #10Rulings
You can't cast Essence Capture without a target creature spell. If either target is illegal when Essence Capture tries to resolve, the other is still affected as appropriate.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
A creature spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Essence Capture. The spell won't be countered when Essence Capture resolves, but you'll still put a +1/+1 counter on the target creature.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
Rulings
You can't cast Essence Capture without a target creature spell. If either target is illegal when Essence Capture tries to resolve, the other is still affected as appropriate.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
A creature spell that can't be countered is a legal target for Essence Capture. The spell won't be countered when Essence Capture resolves, but you'll still put a +1/+1 counter on the target creature.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)