Pain Seer
Creature — Human Wizard
Inspired — Whenever this creature becomes untapped, reveal the top card of your library and put that card into your hand. You lose life equal to that card's mana value.
Mark Winters
Rulings
If the mana cost of the revealed card includes {X}, X is considered to be 0.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
Inspired abilities don't trigger when the creature enters the battlefield.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If the revealed card doesn't have a mana cost (because it's a land card, for example), its mana value is 0.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If an inspired ability triggers during your untap step, the ability will be put on the stack at the beginning of your upkeep. If the ability creates one or more token creatures, those creatures won't be able to attack that turn (unless they gain haste).
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
Inspired abilities trigger no matter how the creature becomes untapped: by the turn-based action at the beginning of the untap step or by a spell or ability.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If the inspired ability includes an optional cost, you decide whether to pay that cost as the ability resolves. You can do this even if the creature leaves the battlefield in response to the ability.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
Rulings
If the mana cost of the revealed card includes {X}, X is considered to be 0.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
Inspired abilities don't trigger when the creature enters the battlefield.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If the revealed card doesn't have a mana cost (because it's a land card, for example), its mana value is 0.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If an inspired ability triggers during your untap step, the ability will be put on the stack at the beginning of your upkeep. If the ability creates one or more token creatures, those creatures won't be able to attack that turn (unless they gain haste).
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
Inspired abilities trigger no matter how the creature becomes untapped: by the turn-based action at the beginning of the untap step or by a spell or ability.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)
If the inspired ability includes an optional cost, you decide whether to pay that cost as the ability resolves. You can do this even if the creature leaves the battlefield in response to the ability.
(wotc • 2014-02-01)